AARC Announces Apex Award Recipients for 2024-2025

IRVING, TX / ACCESSWIRE / March 8, 2024 / The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) established the Apex Recognition Program in 2017 to recognize respiratory therapy programs that achieve and consistently perform at the highest standards of education, quality, and patient care.


Similar to the Magnet Program for the nursing profession, the Apex Program requires facilities to submit detailed documentation on a range of factors that figure into the delivery of high-quality care. Apex honorees excel in areas ranging from education and credentialing of their RT staff to the implementation of protocols aimed at facilitating safe and effective delivery of care and more. Apex designation is awarded in the organizational categories of acute care hospital, post-acute care, long-term care facility, home medical equipment, dedicated transport programs, and respiratory therapy education programs.

Organizations that earn Apex recognition stand out in their communities as exemplary centers of respiratory care with a commitment to excellence in professional development, and evidence-based quality care.

The AARC is pleased to honor these 11 organizations with its 2024-2025 Apex Awards:

Hospital Category

  • Advent Health for Children
  • Cooper University Health Care
  • UTSouthwestern Medical Center
  • Wellstar Hospital
  • Advent Health East Orlando
  • Dell Seton Medical Center at the University of Texas at Austin
  • Children’s Hospital Colorado

Education Category

  • Midwestern State University
  • University of Kansas Medical Center Department of Respiratory Care and Diagnostic Science, Respiratory Care Bachelor’s Degree Advancement Program

Transport Category

  • Advocate Children’s Hospital
  • MedCenter Air Atrium Health

These Apex Award winners for 2024-2025 join another 29 organizations that received the award in 2023-2024. You can view that list here.

The next application cycle for Apex recognition opens on May 1. Organizations interested in learning more about the award and how to apply are encouraged to visit the AARC’s Apex Recognition Award Information page.


The American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC), founded in 1947, is the nation’s oldest and largest professional association dedicated to respiratory therapists and health care providers involved in cardiopulmonary care. The AARC strengthens the profession, providing excellence in leadership and education, advancing the art and science of respiratory therapy, and advocating for respiratory therapists, their patients, and caregivers. Fostering a diverse and inclusive membership community worldwide, AARC is a not-for-profit organization headquartered in Irving, TX. Learn more about us at aarc.org.

Contact Information

Ellen Worsham
Vice President, Marketing and Communication

SOURCE: American Association for Respiratory Care


View the original press release on newswire.com.

error: Content is protected !!